SAMA 26: Day 3 Of #SAMA26 Was Not Short of Controversy

Image of #SAMA26

As you already know, It’s the week of SAMA 26. In case you didn’t know, The 26th annual South African Music Awards (SAMA) are hosted on the virtual world due to the pandemic.  Unlike previous years where the entire show took place on one day, the 26th SAMA Awards will be broken up into five episodes airing between 3 and 7 August at 21:30. 

Last night (5 August 2020) was Day 3 of #SAMA26 and it came with a few controversial talking points. A number of fans weren’t pleased with DJ Tira winning the Best Kwaito album over DJ Maphorisa & Kabza Da Small. Furthermore, a few fans felt like Amapiano should’ve had it’s own category seeing that it dominated the previous music year.

There was still the issue of the Hip-Hop Category, which rose a lot of debates since the nominations were announced. A number of Hip-Hop heads still felt like Nadia Nakai was unfairly overlooked for even a nomination in the category, yet having one of the few solid hip-Hop albums of 2019. To top it off, some fans were shocked to see that the winner (Yanga Chief) of the Hip-Hop Category was an Artist who only dropped an EP rather than an official album .

Despite all of that, everyone was pleased to see Mlindo The Vocalist walk away with one of the biggest awards, as he won Best Selling Artist. Other Awards which were handed out on the day included Best pop album, Best Selling DVD and the big Lifetime Achievement award.

Watch the video below for a recap of what went down on Day 3. Also check out the full list of SAMA 26 Day 2 winners below. For those who missed Day 1 & day 2 of SAMA 26, you can also recap on what went down on Day 1 #SAMA26 & Day 2 #SAMA26.

A Recap of SAMA 26 – Day 3
Dan Tshanda wins at the SAMA Awards 2020
Dan Tshada won The Lifetime Achievement Award
Yanga Chief wins at the SAMA Awards 2020
Y&anga Chief won Best Hip-Hop Album
Mlindo The Vocalist wins at the SAMA Awards 2020
Mlindo The Vocalist won Best Selling Artist
DJ Tira wins at The SAMA 2020
DJ Tira won Best Kwaito Album
Mathew Mole wins at the SAMA Awards 2020
MAthew Mole won Best Pop Album
Kurt Darren wins at the SAMA Awards 2020
Kurt Darren won Beste Pop Album
Joyous Celebration won Best Selling DVD

Share and Enjoy !